Girly Hour

Chic Clothes. Girlie Goodies. Beautiful Bling! Etc.

Foot in mouth. Fluorescent Flats. Et al. July 6, 2010


Tres Mode Sale!

Tres Mode Sale!

Fluorescent Flats. Gorgeous Gladiators.

So I have the best job! I often get to start my day by reviewing malls and merchandise rather than entering cluttered cubicles. And so today was yet another day at the mall and it became even more special as I received a text on my phone saying “Tres Mode” 40% off! I immediately started thinking about the gladiators I lusted at on their window display and the fluorescent green flats….aah! I so needed the latter to brighten up my dull days and dowdy outfits. And somehow I made it to the store, tried a couple of pairs but I knew my eyes were set on that Neon green shoes. I had made up my mind about them a long time ago. There was no looking back. We were meant to be together. Without any guilt or after thought, I decided to take the plunge and thrilled with the 40% off I did it! Yup! I got them! 🙂 Hooopppie! It was definitely a SuperKICKshoestart to my day!


Edgy Evenings: When I shot my mouth off!

While my day kicked off on a good note, the evening had its moments when I decided to be the scatter brain self that I am. Tired and pooped after a hard day of work, I was on the mall crawl again with my darling dearest hubby aka my best friend aka life partner binging on burgers and holding hands and being mall rats et al. At the same time over 30% off my girly brain was preoccupied with work and so were 20% off my fingers which were busy texting away at light speed. I was supposed to share feedback on an employee my publication was hiring and I ended up messaging the feedback to the same person who was being hired instead of the manager. DAMN! Now, thankfully I didnt let myself go in the message and the content was suitable for children and adults alike. BOY! Iam crazyy. But this is certainly not the first time I’ve had a foot in my mouth. There have been several occasions and am supremely confident  that many more will follow.

Got your foot in your mouth? Do some “Damage Control.” While the situation is something that you cant always control, you can fix it by doing some DAMAGE CONTROL! Here’s how.

Shut up. Yup.. Right now. Don’t say anything. Beep!If you have spilled the beans, done the deed, spread the words and the joy with it, its time to zip up and seal your mouth right that minute; before you end up sounding guilty or causing some more harm, stick to the “Silence is golden” adage and you’ll most likely ease through the situation.

Diplomacy Dose. Now if you are someone who can think on their feet and turn a pumpkin into a beautiful Cinderella horse carriage only then should you attempt this one or steer clear completely. Think you can pour some sugar on the bitter banter, well then, good for you! Keep it simple, confident and effortless. Dont sound guilty or you will give it away. Be yourself, keep it real and sound like nothing ever happened and we are good to go! The “fake it” mantra can work here if you believe in it.

Girl Gossip. Did you have a “Foot in mouth” situation that was funny? hilarious? tragic? tormenting? unforgettable? Do you have a better way to deal with a foot in mouth situation? Something that’s worked for you or a friend? Girlie’s gotta find out! Post it here and let’s have some fun, make some new friends and get all girlie 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

